Echo of Love: “I Am a Better Person Because of You.”

Isn’t it amazing when the people who matter in your life, say to you, “I am a better person because of you”?

Love is an echo.

I think Jason Mraz said it best in his ‘Love Someone’ song: “Love is a funny thing. Whenever I give it, it comes back to me. And it’s wonderful to be, giving with my whole heart, as my heart receives.”

I also love this Chinese Proverb, “Life is like an echo. What you send out comes back.” It’s the same spiritual principle found in the Scriptures, “You reap what you sow.”

Today, as I was pondering my recent loss when a friend and I decided to go our separate ways for now, my heart landed on one of the last words he said to me, “I am a better person because of you.”

Together, we learned that loving someone who don’t love themselves is like hugging a cactus. The closer you get, the more it hurts.

So he left. To learn Self-Love.

And I am free to do the same.

Meanwhile, his parting words are, “I am a better person because of you.” 

And he’s not the only one who’s been saying it. Melody said that. Annie said that. They are some of my bestest friends in the world. Coming from them, it’s like a miracle!

5 years ago, in the midst of a painful break-up, my ex said, “I’m not sure I can be a better person if I stay.”

He was right. But wow. How that has changed, without me realizing it.

I am not trying to impress anybody. I am not trying to be nice or trying to be good. I know my whole self well enough to know I am no saint. I’m just being me. And this is what they’re saying to me, about me, now.

Our world is a reflection of who we are. What I am hearing, is an echo of love.

How about you? What have you been hearing your loved ones say to you lately? If no one has expressed this to you yet, know that the statement “I am a better person because of you” is something YOU can begin to say to YOURSELF. It is something You can choose to be. You can choose to be a better person, because of you–beginning with the better choices you are consciously choosing to make for your life.

“I am a better person because of you” is possible. You choose.

4235c00388742d6c9ca6d9e2e10ff443

Love, Mish

FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

****

“The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love.” – Julia Cameron

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

