May every encounter this merry week of celebration be an opportunity to explore, practice and experience the Power of Love, Belonging and Being Enough.

Brené Brown: “Love and belonging are essential to the human experience… If we want to fully experience love and belonging, we must believe that we are worthy of love and belonging…

The greatest challenge for most of us is believing that we are worthy now, right this minute. Worthiness doesn’t have prerequisites. So many of us have knowingly created/unknowingly allowed/been handed down a long list of prerequisites:

*I’ll be worthy when I lose twenty pounds.
*I’ll be worthy if I get pregnant.
*I’ll be worthy if I get/stay sober.
*I’ll be worthy if everyone thinks I’m a good parents.
*I’ll be worthy when I can make a living selling my art.
*I’ll be worthy if I can hold my marriage together.
*I’ll be worthy when I make partner.
*I’ll be worthy when my parents finally approve.
*I’ll be worthy if he calls back and asks me out.
*I’ll be worthy when I can do it all and look like I’m not even trying.

Here’s what is truly at the heart of Wholeheartedness: Worthy now. Not if. Not when. WE are WORTHY of LOVE and BELONGING now. Right this minute. As is.

In addition to letting go of the ifs and whens, another critical piece of owning our story and claiming our worthiness is cultivating a better understanding of love and belonging…

Love:
We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection.

Love is not something we give or get; it is something that we nurture and grow, a connection that can only be cultivated between two people when it exists within each one of them–we can only love others as much as we love ourselves.

Shame, blame, disrespect, betrayal, and the withholding of affection damage the roots from which love grows. Love can only survive these injuries if they are acknowledged, healed, and rare.

Belonging:
Belonging is the innate human desire to be part of something larger than us. Because this yearning is so primal, we often try to acquire it by fitting in and by seeking approval, which are not only hollow substitutes for belonging, but often barriers to it. Because true belonging only happens when we present our authentic imperfect selves to the world, our sense of belonging can never be greater than our level of self-acceptance…

…We can only belong when we offer our most authentic selves and when we’re embraced for who we are.” – Brené Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

Have a merry week of celebration and a mellow week of contemplation. 

May every reunion, gathering and encounter be an opportunity to explore, practice and experience the Power of Love, Belonging and Being Enough.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

