She said, “I want to marry the ugliest man, so he’ll be faithful to me.” It turns out, the ugly man she married, was not only unfaithful, he didn’t care about her.

“I picked up an old photograph in the antique drawer, in my grandfather’s room. The beautiful girl in the yellow dress caught my attention.

There’s something about her that made me ask my aunt, “Who is she?” I found out she was an adopted child, the half-sister of my elder aunt’s husband. She had said, “I want to marry the ugliest man, so he’ll be faithful to me.” It turns out, the ugly man she married, was not only unfaithful, he didn’t care about her.

When her water bag burst, he didn’t allow her to deliver the baby. He told the doctors to hold until the next day of August 1st, which was more “auspicious”. Somehow, she fell off the bed, and died (before she could give birth). She was pregnant with twins.

An earlier scan had revealed that one of the baby was a girl. The dad assumed the other would be a girl too. So instead of saving the babies through caesarean, he allowed the babies to die, along with their mother. Later, when he found out one of the baby was a boy, he was hopping mad with himself.

She was, I was told, about my age when she passed on so tragically.

Life is so unpredictable. Death comes when you least expect it. And true ugliness is selfishness. The lady made a choice to marry that man, out of fear. All it did was let her down. What a nightmare…” – an entry in my journal, two years ago, 1st March.

yellow

The story of The Girl In The Yellow Dress is true, not just of the lady in the photograph, but of each of us.

At one time or another, we may have made a choice out of fear, in preparation against the thing we fear the most.

But as we have discovered, the very thing we fear, becomes our reality, when we make it our focus and when we allow it to inform our decisions.

Her story is speaking to me today:

Choose Love.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

4 responses to “She said, “I want to marry the ugliest man, so he’ll be faithful to me.” It turns out, the ugly man she married, was not only unfaithful, he didn’t care about her.

  1. I really enjoyed reading that.

Leave a Reply

