A dying of the old, a birthing of the new.

“An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backwards. When life is dragging you back with difficulties, it means its going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming. Its like when you hit rock bottom the only way you can go is up. When life drags you back, you can only go forwards.” – Anonymous

Life doesn’t always go according to plan or turn out like what we hope for. Some of us bounce back real quick from the set-back. Then there are some of us, who stay stuck for a while–and there’s no shame in that. Sometimes, it’s necessary to be “stuck” long enough to learn something.

I took 3 years. In the 3 years, I’ve grown so much, but it comes with growing pains. This year, I know for sure I am ready to launch forward, conquering fear by fear, doing the things I’ve always been wanting to do.

Last week for example, I bought 6 archery packages from Groupon. That’s 624 arrows in total! I figured I’m going to need as many arrows as possible, since I suck at it now but plan to get better at it! :- p Plus I’ve always wanted to give archery a shot. Feels good to finally do it. Fun and games aside, symbolically, an arrow means Flight and Direction. So this newfound hobby is meaningful for me and happening at the perfect time.

An arrow can also mean Life and Death.

I’ve been going through my old journals to gather materials for my project. I came across this note I wrote on Wednesday, 29th December 2010. Just a back story. This was written a few weeks after a devastating heartbreak. During this time, I’ve often felt numb, and “dead”… But the part of me that was alive, was insanely restless. To cope with that, I’d go for morning walks. This is what I wrote after the walk that morning…

“It was a cool morning today… The clouds were out, the sun was not, and it was breezy and chilly at 9am, which is a bit unusual! It was far too tempting not to take a walk and so I did, with my mug of coffee and teaspoon in tow!

The stray dogs were looking at me funny, the squirrels in the bushes were acting funny, and truth be told, I felt kind of funny walking around with that giant mug of coffee and spoon but it’s liberating not to care.

I was out to clear my mind and for the millionth time, I am so grateful I live on this side of my world, up on the hill, surrounded by nature… The energy here is calm and assuring. And there’s always something to be learned just by observing nature…

During my walk today, I contemplated the carpet of brown, fallen leaves. All leaves die and fall off the branch and tree eventually. But it is not the end but a beginning of another life cycle. When the dead leaves fall to the ground on which the tree stands, it is still a part of the tree, though separate. It serves, through its slow and eventual decay, to fertilize earth and nurture the tree that once gave it life.

And in being so,

it is once again

a part of what it left,

a part of the living,

by dying…

How does this apply to me?

I guess nature is teaching me once again that everything has its place in time. And that the dying off and falling away is another way of living and being together. It is a dance of balance, like night and day and hot and cold. And whatever it is I’m going through, is part of the learning cycle.

A dying of the old, a birthing of the new. The shedding of tears and the laughters to come…”

Whatever season you’re going through in your life right now, I wish you Strength for the journey ahead… And remember, “When life is dragging you back with difficulties, it means its going to launch you into something great.” Have a little Faith in you. It’s going to be okay.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

