“You will never change your life until you change something you do daily. The secret of your success is found in your daily routine.” – John C. Maxwell

Observe the patterns in your life. In just 1 day, the past 1 week, 1 month, 1 year… and if you dare go further, up to 10 years. What’s stuck on repeat?

I was clearing out my room the other day when I came across a note I wrote, more than 10 years ago. It was a sea of questions and thoughts and fears. But ONE stood out most of all.

“I want to be a writer… But what if I don’t have what it takes to be one? What if I’m not good enough to be a writer?”

I couldn’t believe it. I’ve been wrestling with these same questions everyday recently. But to discover that it’s nothing new, that it’s an Old Fear, something snapped. I started laughing. I suddenly realised I have spent the past 10 years doing exactly what I had wanted to do: WRITING.

I’ve been Copywriting, Songwriting, Blogwriting–writing, writing, writing! I AM a writer. My clients love my work. There are people who love my songs. And then there are readers who love my blog. And I have proved my old fear wrong. So what’s stopping me now, from Storywriting and Bookwriting? It’s Fear. It’s just an Old Pattern of Fear, planting doubts.

Realizing that, has given me the courage to get unstuck, and work daily towards my goals. This includes doing things I’ve never done before, such as constructing a world for my heroine and the obstacles she must face in order to get through to the other side. As I began drawing from my own journey, experience and imagination to do this, I saw a familiar pattern…

…It’s a pattern I saw in this video sometime ago, “What makes a hero?”. Watching it again, I was surprised (and not so suprised) to see that I’ve gone through “The Hero’s Journey”, and am still going through it right now… I know I’m not the only one and I’d like to share it with you here:

“…you leave your comfort zone. Have an experience that transforms you. And then you recover. And do it again.

You don’t literally slay dragons or fight Voldemort. But you face problems just as scary.

Joseph Campbell said, ‘In the cave you fear to enter, lies the treasure you seek.’ What is the symbolic cave you fear to enter?

Auditions for the school play? Baseball try-outs? Love?

Watch for this formula in books, movies and tv show you come across. You will certainly see it again.

But also be sensitive to it in your own life.

Listen for your call to Adventure. Accept the Challenge. Conquer your Fear. And claim the Treasure you seek.

And then, do it all over again.” – Matthew Winkler 

For YOU, what is the symbolic cave you fear to enter? What is your call to Adventure? What is your Challenge? What is your Fear that can be conquered? What is the treasure that you seek? Every single day, is an opportunity to advance closer to your dreams–DO IT.

For me, this is the year of facing major fears. I’ll be diving to its deepest depths and scaling up its highest heights! Besides writing, I’ve committed to be dive-certified by April and will be climbing Mount Kinabalu in June. I’m so excited for me as these are the things I’ve been wanting to do but was too afraid to do. I know that by the end of it, old fears will be broken, more confidence will be gained! It’s just what I need to keep progressing.

I leave you with this amazing quote…

habit

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

2 responses to ““You will never change your life until you change something you do daily. The secret of your success is found in your daily routine.” – John C. Maxwell

  1. Love this! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

