Assumption Kills

“See the stray dogs you like?! They just killed a cat!!!” my sister ran up the stairs and spat out, before retreating back to her room. She made me feel like I was responsible for its death! She’s obviously upset. So I put on my glasses and went down to have a look. She heard me coming and came out to join me at the balcony.

“Where’s the cat?”

“There!” she pointed to a striped orange cat, lying motionless on my neighbour’s backyard. “The neighbours tried to stop the dogs by yelling and making noise, but it’s too late. Look what the dogs did!

The poor cat…”

I felt bad.

When I first heard the cat hissing and growling, I was buzy trying to put my thoughts into words for this post (click the link to read my Vision story). So I assumed the cat was having some fun in the jungle… they usually make loud noises when they’re feeling good, don’t they?

Then when I heard animals charging through the forest and dogs barking away, I assumed the dogs were chasing after wild boars, that’s what they do, sometimes.

Then when I heard the cat and the dogs getting louder and louder, I just assumed the cat and the dogs were doing their own separate thing, but all at the same time, and I wished they weren’t making so much noise! I’m trying to concentrate on my writing here!

But the situation was heating up. And this time around, I heard my neighbours “barking” at the dogs by imitating the noises the dogs were making and yelling at them. I assumed they were intolerant people, and I assumed they were assuming the cat was in trouble and punishing the dogs for making noise!

I went on writing, tuning the whole drama out… till all is quiet.

Till my sister ran up with the news of the dead cat.

“I should’ve done something,” my sister said later, feeling bad that she just watched the whole thing from the window. I felt exactly the same now. “I should’ve done something instead of assuming things,”

The whole time the cat was fighting for its life and making so much noise to draw attention, I was buzy assuming and making up stories about what it was experiencing–so I can go on working on my blog, uninterrupted.

This habit of assuming a lot, really needs to be looked at and dealt with.

Just a couple of weeks ago, 4 of my guppies died ‘cos I assumed the tank was well taken care of. Had I looked at the filter earlier, I could’ve stopped the fungus growth in its track before it claimed a few lives.

Just a month ago, a new relationship (or whatever it was) faded to nothingness, ‘cos we assumed certain things, which led to increasing fear, heaviness, and insecurities on both sides. All we had to do was clarify instead of assuming. By now, it’s clear it is what it is, and we’re friends.

But what a reminder Today: “Assumption Kills.” This applies to everything. Relationship. Workplace. Friendships. Beliefs. Pets. Life.

So my question to myself is, what am I assuming again? What questions can I ask instead? How can I do something about what’s bothering me instead of assuming and letting my assumptions drive me up the wall?

Wow. Sorry cat… Next time, I’ll know better than to assume… – _ –

My boss has a favourite saying he likes to quote, “To Assume is to make an ‘Ass’ of ‘U’ and Me’.” Last night, a friend reminded me of this line after I shared this story of how the cat died while I was busy being an “ass”.

What are we assuming today? What questions can we ask instead? How can we do something about what’s bothering us instead of assuming and letting IT (our assumptions) drive us up the wall? 

Let’s remember to ASK / find out, instead of making a habit out of ASS-uming things.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

