What can we learn from WhatsApp Founders and their $19 Billion Facebook Deal?

Waking up to a story like this–“WhatsApp Founders Become Billionaires In $19 Billion Facebook Deal”–all kinds of emotion comes up and it makes me think about this and that. 

But I’ve been there before. First, I must remind myself, “Do not compare. Do not compare. Do not compare!” I know this can serve a purpose if I ask the bigger question, “What can I learn from this?”

I like what I read from Mashable.com. “In what’s soon to rank as one of the great Silicon Valley creation stories — up there with the $40 rental late fee that drove Reed Hastings to found Netflix — WhatsApp started with restrictive gym policy.

According to legend, WhatsApp co-founder and CEO Jan Koum came up with the idea for his company in early 2009 after his gym banned the use of cell phones. Koum became annoyed at missing calls during his workout and, being an engineer, decided to create a solution.”

I see the word Solution.
It always comes back to that.
How can I add value?
How can I be a Solution?

Looking at today’s case in point, I’m thinking, everyone (who’s got a thing for this line) can be a software engineer. The difference is that Jan Koum went on to create a bigger solution for a wider audience. He was not limited by the immediate engineering problems within the scope of his job. He channelled his frustration to a place where his own existing skills and expertise could do something about it.

I like that.

It’s inspiring me this morning to think about all these in terms of a Writer and dream BIG. What’s the bigger idea / story / message that can be a solution for a wider audience besides myself? And it begins with me. How can I use my own set of skills and capability to do something about my own frustrations? Wowwwww…

Mission of the day / week / year / life.

How are you feeling when you’re reading this in the news? Does it inspire you to look at your own set of skills and think of a Solution to a frustration at hand? Not everyone’s an engineer or an entrepreneur or a writer, but we can each be good at what we do, and we can harness our core strength and use it to Do Something!

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

