This Little Light Of Mine, I’m Gonna Let It Shine

The other night, before heading off to bed, a Question crossed my mind. “What does it mean to let your light shine?”

In the past, I would’ve equated this with my gifts, talents, capabilities and abilities. It would’ve been about me and how I could perform.

It would’ve been about having the courage to shine and be a star.

But all of that gets a little tiring after awhile. There’s a lot of striving attached to it, and that kind of light, wanes after some time.

So what does it mean to let my light shine?

I am discovering today that it can be something as simple and effortless as having Gratitude–cheering someone else on and letting them know how much you appreciate them for the Joy that they bring.

In return, you get to see the light of happiness reflected on their face and smile and laughter.

It is also as simple as being a part of someone else’s Dream–and volunteering to be a part of the Team.

A little back story…

Last night, I couldn’t sleep, as usual. I was too excited about Life. And maybe the iced coffee at Miss Ellie Tea House had something to do with it. Anyways. At 12-3 in the morning, I was craving for Spaghetti Bolognese.

Imagine my surprise when I found out that Y made Spaghetti Bolognese for lunch today! I told her an angel must have whispered in her ear to cook me what I wanted! She laughed and said she had no idea what to cook today, and that the idea just came to her out of the blue.

I whooped and wowed and made a really big deal out of this ‘wonderful coincidence’ and it really made her day!

Next, I’ve been trying to get Annie to come out to catch up. She mentioned she’ll be busy, and that her hubby and herself would be visiting an orphanage, in preparation for a charity drive, for the orphans.

Immediately I wondered how I could be a part of it. Tomorrow, they’ll be picking me up to join them on a visit! This is a big deal to me cos’ I’ve been wanting to visit an orphanage for a long time.

Now it’s really happening and I don’t have to go it on my own or organise anything–just hop on-board! 🙂

Letting IT shine, is really as simple as this…

Their light sparking off my light and my light adding fuel to their light.

Together, we get a bonfire! Let US shine!

ps: What does this have to do with Love? Everything. Gratitude and Support is an expression of Love. When you take a little time to express gratefulness and spare a little time to be a part of someone else’s Dream–don’t be surprised–your own dream will come true. 😉

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

