Keys To Change

“Sometimes you hold onto keys that are from the past. I found a ring of keys from my old house. I don’t know why I save them, and there were so many!

But none of them fit any of the locks of where I am now dwelling. Many are trying to use old keys in the new place God has brought them. It’s useless to try to use old keys in your new place.

You need new keys for where you are now. Don’t be afraid to let go of old ways of doing things. “It worked before” you say! But this is a new day.

And you are in a new place. Let go of what you’ve been holding onto that is no longer working, and reach into what God has before you.” – Barbara Lanzdorf

It was a jaw-dropping moment when I read this on my facebook’s newsfeed. These were my thoughts exactly today. Amazing how there’s no escaping when there’s a lesson to be learnt!

It’s clear procrastination is not serving me any more–not that it ever has.

But it was allowed ‘cos the pleasure of seeing results gained in the last minute outweighed the pain. My mind associates this bad habit with a sense of reward!

The pressure from leaving things to the eleventh hour forces me to focus in that few remaining hours to get the job done–and it works–at the expense of sleep.

The problem with this habit is that deadlines keeps getting pushed and you find yourself making excuses you know you shouldn’t be making. The worst thing is that time is wasted on all sides and my body suffers for it.

Monday, on the train on the way home from work, I could hardly keep my eyes open and was transformed into a human pendulum. Every time I shook myself awake, I could see the guy seating across me watching and wondering what’s up…

Discipline and Focus are two traits I deeply admire and desire for myself.

2013. Let this be the year I discover how disciplined and focused I can be!

ps: What’s Discipline and Focus got to do with Love? Everything. It’s part of Self-Love. You know it’s good for you, so choose what’s good. It’s part of Respecting Others and Yourself, which again boils down to Loving Others and Yourself enough to do what’s right, i.e Keeping Promises Made. This is one aspect of Love that I / We get to work on this year. I mean, I know I’m not the only procrastinator in this world… come on now! 😉 So yes, I’m talking you and me both! 

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

