Love Does No Harm To Others

“If you LOVE your neighbour as much as you love yourself you will not want to harm…

…All ten (commandments) are wrapped up in this one:

to LOVE your neighbor as you LOVE yourself.

LOVE does no wrong to anyone.

That’s why it fully satisfies all of God’s requirements. It is the only law you need.” – Romans 13:9-10, (The Living Bible translation)

“LOVE does no harm to a neighbour;

therefore LOVE is the fulfillment of the law.” – Romans 13:10 (New King James Version)

“Who is my neighbour?”

An expert in the law had asked Jesus that question, after having tested Jesus on what must be done to inherit eternal life, according to the Law.

Jesus replied with the now world famous story of The Good Samaritan. And asked him in return, “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?”

The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.”

I am referring to passages found in Luke 10:25-37, just in case you may want to check that out for yourself, which I’d gladly encourage you to do.  

Besides the person / people living next door, Merriam-Webster dictionary also clearly defines Neighbour as, A Fellow Man.

A Fellow Human is your neighbour.

So what do we do with Our Fellow Man?

Jesus said, “This is my command: LOVE each other”. – John 15:17

And one of the hardest teachings of Jesus is found in Luke 6:27, “But I tell you who hear me: LOVE your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you… If you (only) love those who love you, what credit is that to you?”

But it makes total sense that He would ask this of us, because it means:

LOVE your neighbour as yourself.

LOVE does no wrong to anyone.

LOVE does no harm to a neighbour.

I love this song by Jason Mraz, “What Would Love Do?” When a friend, Stephen Ryan, shared this song with me, what struck me was its similarity to the famous question “What Would Jesus Do?” But the version he gave me didn’t have Jason telling us how he came up with the idea for the song. So I find it amusing when I discovered his thoughts behind it…

“There’s a famous bumper sticker that says What Would Jesus Do? I don’t know, I haven’t seen Him in a while. But what moves me is when I think What Would Love Do?

I realise it’s the same thing. So when you find yourself in any predicament, ask yourself, What Would Love Do?” – Jason, on his idea behind the song What Would Love Do?

I can see what Jason’s trying to do here. Sneaky. But I like how he drew a parallel between What Would Jesus Do? and What Would Love Do? If you know what Jesus is all about, you’d agree too, “It’s the same thing.”

Because I enjoy the slower, reflective version Stephen shared, more:

Love,

Mish

****

Michelle Tan is the Founder of The Love Culture ‎~ Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living. https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Her mission is to make space for Faith, Hope & LOVE through her writings, clothing line ROX/STA http://www.roxstastudio.com & music.

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

