Ants Can Show You The Way To Love

Ants are great teachers of Love… especially the first aspect of ‘Love is Patient’. 

What do I mean by that?

Well, I’ve been gifted with a special situation where tiny little red ants would appear from seemingly nowhere, land on my arms and sink their pincers in. Ouch! But because I believe ants are not the problem (and that it’s really us not keeping clean enough–in my instance, it would be food / bowls / coffee left on the desk while I’m working), I’ll just blow at the tiny ant, so it’ll fly away, and land on the floor where it came from.

Flicking the ant off is not an option–the strength of our hand crushes it.

So this went on for months. On and off, while working, I’ll feel a sharp pain, and pause to blow the lucky ant off. I say ‘lucky’ because I half suspect or imagine they’ve passed around a message to bored ants wanting to experience what it’s like to bungee jump off my arm!!!

Anyway. One day… I wasn’t in a good mood at all. In fact, I was getting agitated and impatient over something I can’t even remember now. In the midst of that, bam! I slapped at whatever was causing me pain to push it off my arm when I realised 1 second too late what I’ve done to the ant.

By observing my self at that moment, I see that when I allow myself to be dictated by Impatience and reflex reaction towards pain, I end up causing more pain–or in this case, the untimely death of an ant. 

What is the big deal? You may ask.

It’s just an ant! You may say.

I do pray that one day, you will be filled with so much Love that you can’t help but even feel Love for ‘pesky’ little bugs like Ants. Believe it or not, they do have their place on earth, even right beside you, and on your arm. For they are God’s creatures, a divine creation, just like you, put here for a purpose. And if you allow them to, they can be your Teachers.

That aside, I’m not here to debate how you feel about ants–that’s not the point. Let’s focus on the big picture: 1. Can I allow people / creatures / situations that “test my patience” to teach me something about myself? 2. Can I be more aware of my own reaction / response when “tested?” 3. What does my Impatience say about my ability to Love? 4. What were the consequences of me not caring enough to be Patient with someone, in the past? 5. How can I learn and grow from it?

“Love is a learned, emotional reaction. It is a response to a learned group of stimuli and behaviours.

Like all learned behavior, it is effected by the interaction of the learner with his environment…

Love is a dynamic interaction, lived every second of our lives, all of our lives…

…One learns to react in a particular way to a certain degree to a specific stimulus. That reaction will be the visible index of his love…

The more he learns, the more his opportunities to change his behavorial responses and thus expand his ability to love…

If one wishes to know love, one must live love, in action.” – Leo Buscaglia, ‘Love’ – pg 90, 91

Can today be the day you practice expanding your ability to Love? 🙂

The more you Be Love, the sooner you’ll see: Love Attracts Love. 

But don’t take my word for it. Grow in Love. Discover it for yourself.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

2 responses to “Ants Can Show You The Way To Love

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I, too, believe that even an ant has its place and purpose on this earth as a creation of God.

Leave a Reply

