Life’s Like A Basket Of Amedei Chocolates…

“Do you want to look inside? They’ve got some amazing chocolates,” I said to Annie, on our way out from Delicious cafe.

We met for her 30th Birthday celebration and were presently walking past its specialty grocery store.

She responded with a why not, and we went in. She’s not heard of the ridiculously expensive Amedei chocolates before, so I took her to that section–and found Lindt chocolates instead.

“What happened to the Amedeis?” I asked the manager, while paying for the tub of Royal White Riestling ice cream (it was so bad and so not worth the 40 bucks–more than half the tub still sits in the freezer!).

“The management has changed, and downsizing, including the inventories. Today, is in fact my last day.”

“Oh that’s too bad… I was just telling my friend about the Amedei chocolates. She hasn’t seen it,” I said.

“I think I might still have some of them back here…” he says, and heads off into the store room.

He’s got gorgeous eyes, and huge tattoos on his arms. I couldn’t tell from his accent, where in Europe he’s from.

When he came back, he placed a whole basket full of Amedei chocolates in front of me. “Here, take what you like. I was gonna chuck it in the bin anyway,”

“Are you serious?” I couldn’t believe it.

“Yea. Some have passed expiration date, but it’s still okay if you don’t mind it,”

I picked up the black box of 1 CRU with 12 Napolitans. “That’s what I got my friend the last time, and he says it’s really good.”

I don’t really believe in spending so much on chocolates–not for myself anyway. So I’ve not actually tried it. I do know, from what I hear, that it’s nice, and that the Amedei Porcelena is said to be ‘the most expensive chocolate in the world’. Now this guy is offering these babies to me (not the Porcelena of course!)–for absolutely free!

“How about the rest?” he gestured to the slim chocolate blocks, that were wrapped in names like Equador, Grenada, Jamaica, Madagascar, Trinidad and Venezuela–its cocoa-bean’s country of origin.

I was still wide eyed and in a state of disbelief. I felt like I couldn’t touch those chocolates, and returned that box of 1 CRU back on the counter.

So I said, “Why don’t you choose one for me?”

He rummages through the basket, and says, “How about, one of each?”

“Are you serious???” I really can’t believe my luck.

He proceeds to pick up 6 bars of chocolates and maybe more–I forgot.

Then, picking up that box I’d put down, he brought them all to a corner, said he was going to scan it in, so he can take them off the inventory.

“There you go… over 300 dollars worth,” he says and puts them all in a bag for me.

The whole time this was happening, my head was in a spin. This came out of nowhere! I was laughing from the sheer pleasure of this wonderful surprise.

“You came at the right time, “ he smiles.

I asked for his name, so I could thank him by name. With his thick accent, it sounded something like Kahoe, but I’m not sure… So I dare not say that was the name of the man who made my day. 🙂

My girlfriends finally comes over to see what’s up and he leans across the counter and generously offers them 2 bars each.

Hahs!! We walked out of the store, on clouds and sunshine. 🙂

This random act of kindness happened on 15th January (I remember the date, ‘cos we were celebrating my friend’s birthday). I had chosen not to share this story till now because my Ego had to take a back seat. And I wanted something meaningful to offer others, along with this story.

I guess, it feels like the right time to share it today: Life’s Like A Basket Of Amedei Chocolates… you never know what you’re going to get. 

This post is also a call for deeper inner reflection. “Look Inside.”

When you don’t find what you’re looking for, Ask Questions.

The answers you are seeking often lies in the question itself.

It may, in fact, give you so much more than what you ask for.

“You came at the right time,” he says. The right time is NOW.

NOW is the time to begin an enriching journey of Self-Discovery.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

Leave a Reply

