PATIENCE–A Lesson In Waiting, by The Ant In The Toiletbowl & Sue Monk Kidd

I just rescued an ant from the toiletbowl (cos I was about to use it! :p ) but I didn’t have the patience to wait for it to climb on to the tissue paper–so I grabbed it and placed it on the floor.

It lay motionless.

I nudged it with my nail and blew on it, and saw it move. But it was clearly injured from the strong grip of my finger earlier… :/

So as soon as I could, I brought it out to the warmth of the sun and tried to introduce it to the petals of a purple flower. It moved its antennas about and went round and round the tissue paper but refused to budge.

Again, I had not learnt my lesson from the toiletbowl. I thought I’d help the ant move along faster by placing him among friends, on the earth of another flower pot. I watched as another ant climbed on to the tissue that was now in its path and made contact with the ant I had placed there.

Instantly, the injured ant withdrew in fright  to a higher ground on the folds of the tissue, but the new ant tracked it down quickly and lifted it up! I kept watching and saw that its new ‘friends’ were actually bigger in size, though they looked the same from afar. As the ant I had rescued continued waving its legs about, its ‘rescuer’ carted it off–out of sight!

I felt disturbed. If only I had more patience, I wouldn’t have injured the ant. If I left the ant alone, it could’ve recovered on its own. Is it going to be okay? There are two possibilities (that I can think of)…

That the ant had been brought to an ant doctor, if there is such a thing. Or that the ant has been brought to a place where it will be buried alive, along with other ‘harmful things’ the ant colony deemed dangerous. :/

Whichever the outcome, the point is that, again and again, the virtue of ‘waiting’ has been brought to my attention and I really need to ‘LISTEN’.

Just yesterday, I had given my cousin a call to let her know I had already arrived where we were meant to meet up. “Arrrgh! I just woke up!” she replied and told me to wait an hour or so. “What am I going to do now?” I had reacted, very annoyed at her and the thought of having to wait.

Then I had remembered that I had wanted to visit a book store across the road. I wasn’t looking for any books in particular but my unplanned detour had led me to finding a gem of a book by an author, Sue Monk Kidd, whose name I recognised. She’s highly recommended by my Spiritual Directors. When I picked her book up, I laughed to myself.

The title of the book is called“When The Heart Waits”. And the first page of Chapter 1 quotes Rainer Maria Rilke, “Patience is everything.”

Just beautiful. And a timely reminder, that came to me as a result of waiting! I wonder what other precious moments like these will turn up when I’m ‘forced’ to wait the next time–I shall wait and see. 🙂

What have you been waiting for? Has there been a delay? Could it be a blessing in disguise? Have you–like myself–been a little impatient and tried to force it along faster? Impatience causes things to die before its time. Choose to wait it out and allow your dreams to take flight…

…just wait and see.

Love,

Mish.

****

“Fear less, hope more; Eat less, chew more; Whine less, breathe more; Talk less, say more; Love more, and all good things will be yours.”- Swedish Proverb

The Love Culture on FB: https://www.facebook.com/theloveculture

About theloveculture

Inspiring A Loving Way Of Living -- “The Growth of one blesses all. I am committed to grow in Love." - Julia Cameron -- www.theloveculture.wordpress.com www.facebook.com/theloveculture

One response to “PATIENCE–A Lesson In Waiting, by The Ant In The Toiletbowl & Sue Monk Kidd

  1. Wow… I’m feeling the love from all the way here Shanita! ❤ Thank you soooo much. This is a free theme by WordPress… and it's so kind of you to share what you feel about my writing. I'm receiving it with GRATITUDE. Love, Mish

Leave a Reply

